Oncology Follow up 

Got to see the Oncology team today. Turns out I don’t qualify for the study they wanted me in, which is ok. But that didn’t stop the not ok news. 

As we all know, I had my ovaries removed last month mainly so the estrogen production would get down to almost nothing. I will still produce some estrogen in my adrenal glands and fat cells. So we are going to put me on a hormone blocker for that. Great…more hot flashes. I had more hot flashes per day while on hormone therapy than I have had per day since my ovary removal. But I guess I need it so those will start out as a shot every 2 weeks then after 3 shots go to monthly. Luckily, I can get them going at the same time as my bone injection. If you want to look it up, it’s called Fulvestrant. 

The other not so good news it they want to put me on a chemo pill. 😢 I will take this pill once a day starting on Jan 25. We don’t know how long yet cause we have to monitor the places the cancer spread to – my lungs, sternum and arm. The modules in those places haven’t grown (which is good) but they haven’t shrunk either. I got told I should not have the severe effects I did with chemo before but I will have some blood count changes – mainly in platelets. For those of you who don’t know, they are they main factor in clotting. So if I get cut or scratched or something and start to bleed, it could be a big problem depending on the size of the wound. I also will probably have some fatigue with this but not as bad as before. This drug is called Ibrance if you want to look it up. I’ll still have to avoid illness because it is chemo after all. 

I know it’s not the same as the chemo from before but it is still chemo and I don’t like it. I want to hear the word “remission”. Yeah, it’s too soon…I know. But if I can’t hear remission can I at least not hear “more chemo”? I know this pill is a way to not have me take the injection kind but I just don’t want chemo at all. I want to be done. 

So as far as I’m concerned today is crap. Not as bad as others but still not good. 

Leave a comment